Skip to content

Snacks

03/26/2011

I just had one of these, so I was thinking maybe I’ll share some vegan snacking ideas with you.

My favorites:

-Endangered species dark chocolate (they have several vegan varieties).  I generally have one or two squares. (50 cals each)
-Baked Tostitos Scoops and guacamole/salsa.  The other day I actually cut up some tomato and added that and 1/4 cup of black beans to some guac.  It was the best!
-Applesauce
-Apples and peanut butter
-Celery/carrots/broccoli and hummus
-Any fresh fruit!
-Strawberries and soy yogurt or almond milk
-Frozen mixed berries (plain or in yogurt/milk)
-Saltines (okay these are not good for you really but they are my Kryptonite)
-A whole wheat tortilla, some veg cream cheese, and three slices of veg lunchmeat all wrapped up (a snack to go)
-steamed edamame
-Air popped popcorn (1 cup is only 30 calories).  I spray mine with a little cooking spray and then sprinkle on some salt, pepper, and paprika.  YUM.

“They” say that when snacking you should mix a carb with some kind of protein, that combination fills us up and keeps us full, so some snacks come with that built in – like apples and peanut butter together or yogurt/berries together.  Sometimes if I’m having just a carby snack, I’ll just have a glass of unsweetened almond milk with it, that gives me protein and calcium (and tastiness).

Yay snacks!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

