Skip to content

It’s Been a While

02/02/2011

But I promise I’m still cooking and baking!

With winter break and now student teaching I’ve been really busy (too busy for the poor old blog I guess!) and I just realized I haven’t updated in a long, long time.  So today I’m going to recommend a cookbook, share a recipe I made up, and also talk about my average lunch at school.

For Christmas I got Appetite For Reduction by Isa Chandra Moskowitz (I’ve shared recipes from many of her other books here).  I absolutely love this book and I’ve made several things from it already:

Scarlet Barley

Mushroom and Cannelini Paprikas

I served these two recipes from her book along with couscous, mushroom risotto, cucumber and celery with garlic hummus, and various beverages for a double date night with one of our couple friends.  Yum!

It’s been really cold lately, so I decided to make a soup today with some things I had laying around, and here it is:

Mushroom/Spinach/Kidney Bean/Cauliflower Soup

Ingredients:

1/4 cup kidney beans
1/2 cup cauliflower, in random pieces
1 cup fresh spinach
1/4 cup bean sprouts
4 baby bella mushrooms, sliced
onion powder
garlic powder
paprika
salt/pepper
olive oil
vegetable broth
nutritional yeast

Directions:

Start off cooking the cauliflower in the oil on medium heat.  Sprinkle the spices on and makes sure the cauliflower is coated in oil.  Cook for about five minutes.  Add the mushrooms.  Stir and coat in oil.  Sprinkle with spices.  Cook for about two minutes.  Add enough broth to cover the tops of the vegetables. Sprinkle spices.  Simmer until the cauliflower is cooked through (can cut with a spoon), add broth as needed to keep it at the tops of the veggies.  When the cauliflower is done, add the spinach and cover.  Let the spinach wilt.  Stir it in and then add the bean sprouts and kidney beans.  Sprinkle some more spices, add a little bit more broth, and then turn the heat to low and allow the mixture to heat through.  Serve hot, sprinkled with nutritional yeast.  I ate mine with toast, but it would also be good with noodles, rice, barley, mashed potatoes, etc.

 

Mmm, wintery.

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

