Skip to content

The [vegan] girl next door

05/11/2010

Hello all!

I’m starting this vegan/vegetarian cooking blog because I just love to cook and bake.  I’ve been a vegetarian since I was eleven and have decided this year to become full-time vegan.  I’ve always wanted to go full-on vegan, but I never took that step until I realized the impact dairy products were having on me in the past few months.

Nearly all of my family and friends are meat-eaters, but I regularly cook for large groups of them, which means that I get to be creative and tricky.  When I’m cooking for everyone all by myself, it’s always veg (which gets some surprised looks from new visitors who say things like, “WHAT?  This doesn’t have meat in it?!”  Nope).  Sometimes I have to come up with a new twist on an old favorite recipe, and sometimes I just change up veg recipes I already know.

The purpose of this blog is to make vegan/vegetarian cooking and living un-scary and everyday, even for people who are not veg, and to share my adventures in this lifestyle with the world.  I’ll be including simple, easy, usually quick recipes that anyone can do at home with ingredients you can get from the grocery store (for farmer’s market, CSA, etc).  I’ll probably do reviews of veg restaurants around town (Cincinnati, OH), and vegan options at non-veg restaurants, also.

For posts, I’ll tag and categorize each as to what dietary standards they meet (vegan/vegetarian, etc), I’ll also categorize posts based on how many people the recipe(s) serves.  When any product/ingredient is mentioned, assume it is as organic and local as possible.  I’ll always encourage purchasing and eating this way, but it’s understandable if it’s not possible all the time.

Thanks for tuning in!  Check back in a few for my first recipes which will be a compilation of the things I eat most during the week!

One Comment leave one →
  1. conradvisionquest permalink
    05/11/2010 11:02 am

    vegan food IS un-scary! i learned that probably in the first week. can’t wait to try some new recipes!
    ~w
    http://conradvisionquest.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

